CANUCKS FEVER!!!

Oh my God!  Even if you were home downtown and NOT watching the game tonight, you couldn’t possibly miss a single goal being scored by the Canucks as the neighbouring buildings resonated with a loud cheer every time the home team shot the puck in the net.  It seemed as though all Vancouverites were glued to their TV set, in high anticipation, as the deciding game 7 was being played out between the Canucks and the Dallas Stars.

I don’t have a TV, so I didn’t see the game (yeah, I could have gone to a pub or something — too lazy I guess), but judging by the decibel level being generated by my neighbouring fans, I think it’s safe to say things were looking good for the Canucks.  I checked the score online and, sure enough, they ended up winning the game 4-1.

It was amazing to see and hear all the fans coming out on their respective balconies and scream their head off in jubilation as the game was won.  It didn’t take long for the people in the streets to cheer back, for someone to blow an air horn, for a dog to bark approvingly (? ;) ) and a fire truck to wail its siren and honk out loud for a few seconds.  I even saw some fireworks shooting up in the sky from what may have been Robson street or even from the top of a building (???) close by.  Can’t wait to see how things will look like if the Nucks win the Cup…

Alright, I think I have the Canucks fever too now (“It’s about time!” I can almost hear you say. ;)  ).  I’ll do my best to watch the games at a local bar and be part of the action and the contagious atmosphere sweeping the city these days.

Far off in the distance, I seem to be hearing a huge cheering still going strong, on Robson and cars are starting to honk too…

Leave a Reply

