A convenient U.S. shipping address

I do a lot of online shopping and, once in a while an item is either not available in Canada or A LOT cheaper in the U.S. — even Canadian goods! At first I thought I couldn’t benefit from those deals because I did not have a U.S. shipping address to send it to. But then a colleague told me about this place called “The Letter Carrier“: it’s like a little warehouse where you can have your stuff sent to for a very small fee at this address (check the website for fees and restrictions):

[YOUR NAME]
[YOUR PHONE NUMBER]
145 Tyee Drive
Point Roberts, Wa 98281

It’s conveniently located walking distance across the border on the U.S. side. Even me who doesn’t own a car can get there easily enough with transit, albeit more slowly. I live downtown and it takes me about 1.5 hours to get there (it’s just past Tsawwassen). The best part of going there by transit is that I can just step off the bus about a 10 minute walk from the border and walk across almost instantly (my reward for getting the slow ride there ;) ). But even with a car, the wait time can’t be that long as Point Roberts is a tiny community surrounded by water and, if you have no business there, you shouldn’t be at that border crossing to begin with.

I have now used this service a couple of times and it’s great! You can register your email on their website so you’ll get notified right away when your package arrives. You can also send your mail from there too, of course. There are probably other similar places around other border crossings, but this is the most convenient one for me. If you don’t have family, friends or an existing postal box near the U.S. border, try it! You’re gonna love it. :)

5 thoughts on “A convenient U.S. shipping address

    • Not that I can think of… I’ve used the service 2-3 times now and I never had any issues. Many of my colleagues use that service, too. Just review the site’s services, policies, etc. and see if they can fulfill your needs.

  1. I personally perfer TSB Shipping Plus myself, they’re just down the street from TLC, and they open a little earlier on Saturdays. There’s also a multitude of address services over at Blaine that are available, depending on where you live this might be preferable. Note that all services there require an annual fee of around $10 – $15 for some reason.

Leave a Reply

